skip to Main Content

Nominations for Moderator Designate

The names of nominees for the Office of Moderator of the 2009 General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, announced today, are:

  • The Reverend John P Chalmers, Pastoral Adviser and Associate Secretary for Ministries Support and Development;
  • The Reverend William C Hewitt, Minister, Westburn Church of Scotland, Greenock;
  • Professor Herbert A Kerrigan, Q.C., Elder and Reader, Greyfriars Tolbooth and Highland Kirk, Edinburgh.

When they meet on October 28, members of the Committee to Nominate the Moderator will hear proposers and seconders speak to their nominations before voting to nominate the person who will be presented as Moderator Designate to the General Assembly on 21 May 2009.

• Full story at the Church of Scotland.

Back To Top